Christina Kallas
Headshotck   version 2

Christina Kallas is the writer-director of critically-acclaimed ensemble dramas THE RAINBOW EXPERIMENT (2018) and 42 SECONDS OF HAPPINESS (2016) and the writer of the John Hurt-starring, Golden Berlin Bear-nominated political thriller THE COMMISSIONER. THE RAINBOW EXPERIMENT takes Kallas' unique brand of playing with time, perception, and the collective protagonist, utilizing multiple screens at times, to another level. The film which was lauded as a '21st Century Rashomon,' debuted at the Slamdance Int’l FF 2018 and had an impressive run at festivals such as Cinequest, Cleveland and St. Louis, winning several accolades. It had its international premiere at the Moscow Int’l FF and its Asian premiere at the FIRST Int’l FF in China. In 2016, Kallas scored on the film festival circuit with her award-winning feature, 42 SECONDS OF HAPPINESS. Prior credits include BBC Films’ hooligan drama, I.D. and European TV series hits, EDEL&STARCK and DANNI LOWINSKI. Kallas is also known as author of books such as 'Creative Screenwriting: Understanding Emotional Structure' and 'Inside the Writers’ Room.' She was the President of the FSE, the European equivalent of the Writers Guild of America for eight consecutive years. In 2019 she was nominated for Film Threat's inaugural Award This! in the category of 'Best Directress' alongside Debra Granik, Josephine Decker, Jen McGowen, Angie Wang, Chloe Zhao and Mimi Leder. Kallas is a member of the European Film Academy and of the German Film Academy.